Kilimanjaro Round Two

Kilimanjaro. Was. So. Cool. Every single time I saw the summit it looked like a painting that was left in the sky. After the first time we had gone to Kilimanjaro I think we were all really excited to try Kilimanjaro round two! The base of Kilimanjaro all of the way up to the first hut honestly looked like a rain forest to me which was completely unexpected. What was expected was the climb. 

The climb to the first hut was exhausting and exhilarating all at the same time. The first half of our climb we BOOKED it out of pure excitement (and it was also the less steep part). The second half went a little bit slower but our drive was still there! After two hours and seven minutes we made it to the first hut!!! At first, Kristin and I had thought Emily was joking when she had said we made it. But to our delight (after a very, very steep hill) we had made it. This was the kind of proud moment that I have only ever felt after running a race!

It amazed me just how many people were on the mountain that day and I can only imagine how busy it would be during high season. It was and is hard to believe that our group had climbed a part of Mt. Kilimanjaro, the tallest free standing mountain in the world and the tallest mountain in Africa. After passing what looked like mountains to me, I asked Moses our safari driver which mountains those were and he said that everything to him is a hill when you live by Mt. Kilimanjaro. Tanzania 2015 I am going to climb the rest of Mt. Kilimanjaro (I would say 2014 but I need some time to forget how tough just getting to the first hut was)!

Leave a Reply

