Kili round 2

WE MADE IT!!! We climbed Mount Kilimanjaro… well halfway 🙂 This time around going to Mount Kilimanjaro was way different! For starters we actually did some climbing this time and had quite the workout along the way. I was so excited for the hike, but also a little nervous at the same time! I knew that it was going to be a tough day, but I also knew that it would be so worth it… and trust me it was!!!

Climbing was both so exciting and such a challenge all at the same time. It was a lot of mind over matter, especially when we could see a steep part ahead and just knew that we were about to be climbing it! Even though it was the most difficult hike I have ever done, it was at the same time the most rewarding. I was really proud of myself and of everyone else for accomplishing the hike and for accomplishing it together. To have experienced it with the people I did made the day that more special!

One of my favorite parts about the hike (besides the finish!) was running into people who had already made it to the top and were on their way back! They said that the summit was incredible and gave us encouragement to make it to the top… we didn’t correct them when they thought we were going all the way 🙂 Another one of my favorite parts was the view from halfway up the mountain. We literally ate lunch in the clouds! I went from being so sweaty and so hot, to way too cold! Just looking around at the view and being with everyone will be something I will always remember and stand out as one of my greatest memories from the trip.

Leave a Reply

