Final and Lasting impressions

I do not want to leave.

 

When all we hear is Karibu, or welcome, why would we ever want to leave? The people here are so friendly and respectful. They live a Hakuna Matata lifestyle and its lovely. It is no the fact that there is not bad things happening in Tanzania, but it is the fact the people acknowledge it and still try to be happy. Honestly these people are happy, and they are happy with the very few things that they have. As long as their families are fed and able to live a good life there are no other worries. The fact that the people of Tanzania can live and be happy with the smallest resources may be the most important thing that I take back to the United States with me.

 

I have lived a privileged lifestyle my entire life. Example: I have been able to go to Africa for study abroad while in university. One thing that I can’t get out of my head is that I may have just spend more money here than some of these people may ever make. Number two I have gone many places in this country that the citizens of Tanzania may never see. Finally I have now been around different places in this country for 4 weeks, and as much as I have loved it, I almost hate the fact that I feel I have not worked as hard as my brothers and sisters here who work everyday.

 

When I go home I want and need to remember all the things I’ve seen in Tanzania, as well as the people I have met. The people of Tanzania see the United States as the king of the world and the land of opportunity, but I want them to know Tanzania is a real land of opportunity.  The country is still new, and once good leadership is put in place, Tanzania can become a rich country. There is so much fertile land, minerals, and wildlife that can draw so many people to this place. I feel that anyone who comes here will fall in love with the beauty of the natural surroundings, and with the people.

 

If the sights do not bring people back to Tanzania, the people will. Today I had to say goodbye to one of the greatest men I have ever met in my life; Baba (father) Shao. Without him our time at Sekei Secondary School would have been very different. He made sure from day one that we were looked after and respected. I can never thank that man enough for his hospitality and the love he has shown us. He is a role model that I would like to emulate through my life and teaching career.

 

So what do we do now? It seems we just get on a plane and head home, but I fear its not that easy. This trip has been amazing and has really opened my eyes to how other people live around the world. When it comes to GDP Tanzania is one of the most poor countries in the world, but they are rich in spirit. They are so happy, and so respectful. What I would like to take from this experience is a lot more confidence in my teaching ability, becoming more creative and resourceful, as well as realizing how fortunate I am. I have so much, and these people so little, yet they smile. Their smiles I will keep with me, and as I move forward and life I hope to never forget my experience here.

 

To all I have met in Tanzania, thank you. To all the friends I have made on this trip I thank you all the same. I know that we have all learned a lot from each other. We have laughed, we have cried, and we have grown. I will miss Tanzania like the sun misses the flower, and I will try my best to return to the country that has welcomed me with open arms.

 

Thank you Mom. Thank you Dad. Thank you Lisa for this opportunity. I hope to never be the same.

 

Asante Sana.

Leave a Reply

