Things I’ve Learned

  1. I have learned to step very carefully out of Safari vehicles. There is a very big step from the first step to the bottom and if you are not careful enough… you will sprain your ankle.
  2. Moja, mbili, tatu, nne, tano, sita, saba, nane, tisa, kumi. That is how you count to 10 in Swahili. It is really awesome to ask the kids at school how to do this because they can count very super fast.
  3. I also learned how to cut grass using a machete. When we stopped in the Serengeti to get our flat tire fixed there was a man cutting grass. I really wanted to help him cut it, so I took over the machete and started chopping. It would take extremely long to cut the grass that way, but the method definitely works.
  4. I learned how to blow air using a tire to keep a fire burning at a blacksmith shop. I had to switch from left arm to right arm and open and close the tops at the same time.
  5. I learned that I am not as claustrophobic as I think I am. I crawled into a teensy tiny little cave in the ground where the Chagga and Masai villagers would hide when they were fighting years ago.
  6. I also learned that I love African food. Tonight we had rice and some carrot pudding. It was different but still good.
  7. I have learned that I do not need the internet and my cell phone as much as I think I do. It is actually very nice to have more reflection time to myself, especially with all of the new things I am seeing and hearing. Rather than spending that time on the internet.
  8. I learned to be flexible while teaching and sometimes having to think very quickly on my feet. Being prepared doesn’t always mean you are actually prepared.
  9. I have learned to travel lightly and that all the materialistic things that I need in America, I do not necessarily need in Africa. Except for money, but not always a large quantity.
  10. I have learned to never take a day for granted, especially while in Africa. This is a once in a lifetime experience and I am realizing that everyday. You can do anything you put your mind too… even with a sprained ankle. 🙂
Leave a Reply

