First Day of School

As the vehicle that would take us to Lutheran Tetra approached us, I began to feel excitement bubble over in my body, as I knew I really was going to go teach in schools to help better the education of students and myself. Although the excitement was very much, I knew the first day of school might be interesting as I had nerves that were through the roof that I would have to teach a class and the teacher wouldn’t be there and I wouldn’t know what to do. I just knew I had to take one breath at a time and know to be calm and be flexible. As we pulled up to the school we saw the little children along the fields in front of the school and they saw us white people and began smiling and waving. It was heartwarming and made me extraordinarily excited, as we were to begin our teaching. As the day began I had to visit the Headmaster and Academic office where they aasked us what we would prefer to teach. I asked to be in standard (grade) 2 and they asked what I would like to teach and I said anything as long as it wasn’t Swahili as I am not good at it and it is not my first language. We got a small tour of the school and I was the first one to be dropped off into a classroom. The classroom all smiled and said “Goodmorning Teacher,” and they wait until you say goodmorning and sit down as you begin your lesson. I observed the day as it gave me much relief to know that I could see what happens in the day. I watched them do English lessons as that is what I am teaching. The classrooms are very different from American classrooms as the teachers talk on their cell phones or listen to music on their cell phone while they teach. They also leave the classroom while they teach and it is a very relaxed atmosphere. The students have very rugged pencils, limited erasers and sharpeners as they have to share and that distrupts the others from learning. The only thing really in the classroom is a chalkboard and the students’ workbooks. The teachers also have “tea time” and the tea often comes late and they do not go teach again until they have had their tea. The teachers trade classrooms and they have two classes they teach with standard 2 A and B. The students play outside during the tea time and they play on a pile of rubble but they find use of hill and make it creative. They play “king of the hill.” As the day ended we walked through the city, as we had to catch the DalaDala. The DalaDala is a small van/taxi that carries about 12-20 people depending on how many people get squished inside of it. The school was quite an interesting experience and I am excited to learn more about the students, school, and become a better teacher through my opportunity in this school. 

Leave a Reply

