First Day of School

The school I will be teaching at this month is Sekei Secondary School. Heading into the first day I had no idea what to expect in terms of the setup of the school and size as well. When we arrived, our tour guide, Juma, did the honors of introducing us to the headmaster…a quite intimidating man. However, since the first day I have come to find he is a very kind hearted man…just very tall. Our headmaster asked us what subjects we would like to teach as well as what forms. I have always wanted to work with Sophmores and Juniors, so I responded that I would like to teach the Form 3 students in math. 

We then were introduced to the academic headmaster who assigned us the classrooms we would be teaching. As of now we are teaching math on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. As well as teaching English everyday. I have attempted to get the responsibility of teaching a Kiswahili class, while some may think I am crazy…I want to try my best!

We also met Bwana Shao, or Baba Shao as we like to call him. He is easily the greatest person I have ever met in my life. He is very wise and always has a purpose when he speaks, a trait I wish more people would learn in America. I definitely feel at home when I am at Sekei, I feel as though all the teachers and students watch out for each other, and take care of each other. Another trait I wish schools in American would adopt. 

For now I am extremely excited to not only better my teaching practices, but also create a deep relationship with my students in the short amount of time that I am here. 

Leave a Reply

