First Impressions

It has been great to see how beautiful this place is. The combination of the friendly smiles of the locals and natural beauty of the various plants, birds, and the occasional monkey has left me feeling rather sad that we are only here for a month. It is crazy to think, but I am already dreading the moment we will have to leave this place behind. This fear will, however, allow me to take full advantage of the time we are here. The city tour was absolutely amazing. The rain couldn’t damper the almost electric feeling walking through markets provided. Interacting with locals through casual conversation and the typical Tanzanian bartering really made me realize how much I need to focus on my Swahili language, but also provided a glimpse into how great the people really are. I look forward to more interaction and time spent with the locals to better understand what makes this country, and them in particular, so great.

Leave a Reply

