Preparing for travel

The fact that we are leaving for Africa in about 6 weeks is completely overwhelming and exciting all at the same time. I have to admit that Africa was never really a country that was on my bucket list of places to travel. Now that we have started learning about the culture and hearing about all the cool things we will be doing there, I couldn’t be more thrilled to go. I love traveling, exploring and learning about cultures different than our own; the world has so much to offer.

This is my second time studying abroad, so you would think that I have since learned how to stay on top of things when it comes to preparing for a trip. Well, I haven’t. I’m not doing terrible, but I would like to be a little further ahead. I did get all my vaccines, malaria prescriptions, some clothes, and a new pair of shoes though. So that’s a start. Another part of the preparation has been learning about the Tanzanian culture. I love that we are reading about the culture and discussing it. It really gives us a chance to get a taste of what to expect and also to be educated travelers, rather than just tourists.

I can’t put into words how excited (and a little nervous) I am to be able to go into these classrooms and teach. I’m also really excited to get to know these children, spend time with them, and be a part of their lives for a month. This is truly the opportunity of a lifetime and I couldn’t be more thankful!

Leave a Reply

