Preparing for Travel

How do I prepare for an experience such as this one? Passport? Check. Visa? Check. 95% Deet bug spray? Check. Planning to immerse myself in a culture completely unknown to me? Almost!

I do not think that I will ever be fully ready for what lies ahead during our month stay in Arusha, Tanzania. This trip will be an eye-opener and a life-changing experience. Can one ever be ready for a life-changing experience?

Excited is not an adequate word to describe how I feel right now about our adventure. Ecstatic. Ecstatic is how I feel. I am travelling half-way around the world to an unfamiliar place to do what I love: teach. What is there not to be ecstatic about? I get to do what I love all while improving myself as a person and as an educator. And for this opportunity, I am very grateful.

Leave a Reply

