Preparing for travel part 2

I have a few first impressions of what I feel that living and working in Tanzania for four weeks is going to be like. First off, I have the impression that teaching in the schools there is going to be a lot different than what I am used to here. We have talked in our orientation meetings about how the students are taught there like Americans were in years past. The students sit in rows and copy down what the teacher writes on the chalkboard. I feel that this is going to be a little bit of a culture shock for me because in all of my education classes so far, we have been writing lesson plans that incorporate group work and activities where the students discover a lot of the content themselves instead of simply being told what they need to learn from the teacher. I would love to be able to incorporate some of these group activities that I have grown to love into my classroom in Tanzania but it is going to be strange for me to have to defend and explain to the students and Tanzanian teachers why it is something I feel is important for the students to experience.

I also have the impression that the culture of living in Tanzania is going to be completely different than what I am used to. I am expecting quite the culture shock. It is going to be strange not worrying about checking my cell phone to see if my mom or dad called every day, not always having internet access and maybe even electricity. All of these things that I take for granted living in America are things that I am going to have to learn to live without — or at least live with in moderation. I am looking forward to this opportunity to help me appreciate all of the stable and reliable technology I have in my life instead of taking it for granted.

Leave a Reply

